All-Stars advance to sectional competition

Wade Carpenter
The Uvalde All-Stars are the Little League District 21 Major Boys baseball champions. Members of the team include (front row, left to right) Izel Hernandez, Ben Camacho, Evan Perez, Joshua Garcia, Darian Aviles, (second row) Bradlee Burns, Jordan Chacon, Jeremiah Cardenas, Johnny Gonzalez, Mason Gonzalez, Jeffrey Parker, (back row) Anthony Gatto, Coach Krystafer Moreno, Manager Jim Aviles, Coach Bert Gonzalez, and Landon Jackson.

Uvalde Little League captured four of the eight Texas West District 21 tournament divisions in competition at Pleasanton this past week.

All four Uvalde All-Star teams went undefeated in district play to claim championship honors and to earn a spot in the sectional tournament.

The Uvalde 10-12 boys, Junior girls, and both the 9-11 girls and 9-11 boys won their divisions.

Uvalde’s 10-12 Major All-Stars downed Pleasanton, 10-8, last Tuesday night to claim top district baseball honors.

The Uvalde All-Stars were scheduled to begin sectional play last Friday at San Angelo.

Results from that game and other sectional games will be reported in an upcoming edition of the Uvalde Leader-News.

Major players are Darian Aviles, Mason Gonzalez, Jeffrey Parker, Ben Camacho, Izel Hernandez, Joshua Garcia, Jordan Chacon, Johnny Gonzalez, Anthony Gatto, Bradlee Burns, Jeremiah Cardenas, Landon Jackson, and Evan Perez.

Jim Aviles Jr. is the manager, while coaches are Umberto Gonzalez, and Krystafer Moreno. 

Uvalde’s Juniors beat Natalia, 18-13, in the district softball title game.

Last Friday night, the Uvalde girls were slated to open sectional tournament play in Uvalde.

Junior players include Isabella Bueno, Kenzie Cantu, Jazzlean Gomez, Sophia Longoria, Tatyanna Luna, Brinklee Mason, Amarii Pilgrim, Nadiyah Ramos, Angel Rodriguez, Kyla Sanchez, Willa Suarez, Alicia Teague, and Alexis Welch.

JJ Suarez is manager, while the coaches are Kelsey Ede and Juaquin Camacho. 

Last Monday, the Uvalde 9- to 11-year-old All-Stars trounced Devine, 13-3, in the tournament championship game.

The Uvalde Stars were scheduled to play in sectional tournament action this weekend at San Antonio McAllister Park.

Members of the team include Gabriella Jimenez, Gina Gatto, Alicianna Martinez, Callie Sanchez, Janelle Garcia, Aubrey Gomez, Atlee Korczynski, Maddison Reyna, Aleah Ruiz, Hannah Hughes, Karley Aguilera, Aliyah Hernandez, and Sierra Mena.

Juan Gomez is the manager, while the coaches are Ceasar Jimenez and Matt Hughes.

Uvalde 9-11 boys beat Pleasanton, 10-0, last Tuesday in the title game.

The Uvalde All-Stars were set to compete in sectional tournament action this weekend at San Antonio McAllister Park.

Members of the team are Jerren Maldonado, Weston Cantu, Joshua Perez, Deacon Havelka, Harrison Hill, Hector Luna, Elan Martinez, Devin Bustamante, David Sanchez, Kristopher Adair, and Colt Ayala.

The team manager is Alonzo Sanchez, while coaches are Cole Hill and Sigifredo Sanchez.

In final District 21 tournament action last Wednesday, the Uvalde All-Stars best Jourdanton, 14-13, but then lost a 7-5 decision in the deciding game tournament.