UMH recognizes employee dedication

Three Uvalde Memorial Hospital employees are the first-ever recipients of new quarterly awards due to their outstanding work ethic and dedication to their job.

Registered nurse David Satterwhite received the DAISY award; Cardiopulmonary technician Sabrina Arreola, the PETAL award; and UMH greeter Beatrice Villarreal, the BEE award. 

Members of the public, colleagues, physicians, or managers may nominate UMH employees for the awards.

“Staff, like David, Sabrina, and Bea, who have been nominated for and honored with the DAISY, PETAL, and BEE Awards are an integral part of what makes Uvalde Memorial Hospital such a caring and compassionate place for your healthcare needs,” said Carlos Gregorio, UMH chief nursing officer. “I am so proud of these individuals and how hard they work to make our patients feel appreciated and cared for.”

The family of J. Patrick Barnes, who died at the age of 33 from complications of an auto-immune disease established the DAISY Foundation in 1999 in California. During his eight-week hospital stay, his family was impressed by the care and compassion his nurses provided to him and their family. 

They created the DAISY Award in his memory to recognize nurses who make a big difference in the lives of so many people. 

UMH also believes in the outstanding teamwork of clinical non-nursing staff and non-clinical staff, so the hospital added companion honors, the PETAL and BEE awards. 

The Performing Exceptional Tasks and Affirming Lives Award is given to a non-nursing clinical staff member who goes above and beyond in their daily tasks at UMH. 

The Being Extraordinary Everyday Award recognizes a non-clinical UMH team member who significantly exceeds expectations outside of the clinical setting. 

Nomination forms are located at the front information desk at the hospital and are also available in digital versions at and on the hospital’s social media pages. 

Special award committees comprised of their peers will select winners on a quarterly basis.

UMH was founded in 1949 and provides critical access to health care services for residents of Uvalde, Zavala, Kinney, Real, and Edwards Counties.